Willie Phillips Sworn in as Newest FERC Commissioner

The Public Service Commission of the District extends its sincerest congratulations to Willie L. Phillips as he is sworn into the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) today.


Nominated by President Joe Biden, Phillips’ unanimous Senate confirmation to FERC on Nov. 16 marks the first time a D.C. Commissioner was appointed to this position. Phillips is serving a five-year term that ends June 30, 2026. This historic appointment reflects Commissioner Phillips’ dedication and service to D.C. residents and businesses, continuously exhibited while leading the commission.

“I am very proud of Willie L. Phillips and his swearing-in as a Commissioner on the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission,” said Interim Chairman Emilie C. Thompson. “He has always shown prudent judgment, a keen understanding of the issues, and foresight when making tough decisions.  I expect Commissioner Phillips to continue this with his appointment to FERC.”

Phillips began his appointment as a D.C. Commissioner in 2014 and was re-appointed as chairman in 2018. Commissioner Phillips held leadership roles in various regulatory organizations and agencies, including National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, Organization of PJM States, NARUC Select Committee of Regulatory and Industry Diversity, Mid-Atlantic Conference of Regulatory Utility Commissioners, and the Electric Power Research Institute Advisory Council.

Related News


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}