May 2010 Vol. 237 No. 5

Business Meetings & Events

May 2010 Company and Association News

The Mears Group announced the election of Kevin C. Garrity, P.E. as president of NACE International for 2012. He is vice president of Integrity Services for Mears Group Inc. and works in Plain City, OH. He was nominated by the Eastern Area of NACE and selected by the NACE Nominating Committee at Corrosion 2010 in San Antonio, TX.

Garrity manages special projects and develops new markets for Mears worldwide. He has 34 years of experience in corrosion engineering and the application of cathodic protection to buried pipelines and tanks, concrete structures, and marine structures. Garrity earned a B.S. in electrical engineering from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn.

The American Gas Association has named energy advocate Bree Raum as director of government relations.
Jim Hackett, chairman and CEO of Anadarko Petroleum, was named chairman of the American Natural Gas Alliance. He succeeds David Trice, ANGA’s founding chairman, who retired as president and CEO of Newfield Exploration Co. and serves as the company’s non-executive chairman.

Subsea 7 Inc. received the 2010 Pipeline Industries Guild (PIG) Award for Subsea Pipeline Technology at the 53rd PIG national dinner in London. Subsea 7 was recognized for the design, manufacture, testing and operation of a new deepwater diverless pipeline repair system used to repair a 12-inch water injection pipeline in 1,350 meters of water in the Girassol field operated by Total as contractor of Sonangol Concessionnaire.

Timothy J. Burke, vice president, Employee and Customer Relations at the Omaha Public Power District is the new chair of Midwest ENERGY Association’s (MEA) board of directors. Stephen L. Pella, vice president, Natural Gas Utilities, Black Hills Energy is the new first vice chair. Dennis M. Klumb, Jr., president, KS Energy Services joins the executive committee as treasurer. Previous chair, Anthony R. McCain, vice president, Field Operations, Nicor Gas, is now past chair. For a list of MEA’s 2010-11 directors or association information, contact

The National Subsea Research Institute (NSRI) appointed Richard Neilson as academic research director. NSRI develops research strategy for the subsea sector.


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}