Halliburton's Lesar Receives API's Top Honor

API has awarded its highest honor – the Gold Medal for Distinguished Achievement – to David J. Lesar, Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors of Halliburton Company.

“Dave’s visionary leadership in the industry and generosity to the community made him an easy choice for API’s highest honor,” API President and CEO Jack Gerard said. “Lesar’s unwavering commitment to creating a culture of achievement, inclusion and excellence for Halliburton’s more than 50,000 employees who operate in approximately 70 countries is a model for our industry.”

Lesar, who will remain as executive chairman of Halliburton until Dec. 31, 2018, served in senior roles with the company for more than two decades, Most recently, he served as the company’s Chief Executive Officer for the last 17 years before stepping down in June. During his tenure at Halliburton, Lesar ushered in an era of unprecedented technological innovation, including new research and development, which reduced costs for customers, increased safety, and decreased the company’s environmental footprint. From 1997 to 2001, he oversaw Halliburton’s billion-dollar investment in developing technologies. These technologies created products that solved problems, enhanced assets, and delivered long-term value for customers and shareholders.

Prior to joining Halliburton in 1993, Lesar was a partner with Arthur Anderson.

Lesar holds a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Business of Administration from University of Wisconsin – Madison. He serves on the UW Chancellor’s Advisory Council and previously held a position on the board of the Wisconsin School of Business. He also served on the board of directors of the American Petroleum Institute.

The Gold Medal award is API’s highest honor for distinguished achievement and has been awarded annually since 1946 when it was first given to Henry Ford, the founder of Ford Motor Company. The award is in recognition of an individual’s exceptional leadership and service to the industry, their community, and the nation. Previous winners include Stephen I. Chazen, former chief executive officer of Occidental Petroleum, and J. Larry Nichols, co-founder of Devon Energy Corporation.

Related News


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}