March 2021, Vol. 248, No. 3

Associations in the News

Associations in the News March 2021


The board of directors of the Interstate Natural Gas Association of America (INGAA) has elected David Slater to serve as chairman of the organization for a one-year term. INGAA’s board also elected Kim Watson, Kinder Morgan’s president of North Region Gas Pipelines, as the organization’s first vice chair and Pete Tumminello, Southern Company Gas’ group president of Commercial Business, as second vice chair.  

As president and chief operating officer of DTE Midstream, Slater is responsible for DTE’s midstream natural gas assets and serves as a member of DTE’s executive leadership team. He also serves on the board of directors for Millennium Pipeline, Vector Pipeline and Nexus Gas Transmission. Prior to DTE, he was vice president at Goldman Sachs and managing director at Nexen Inc., an oil and gas company based in Calgary, Alberta, Canada, with worldwide operations. 

“With more than 30 years of experience in the industry, David has skillfully managed and led the growth of DTE’s midstream operations,” said Amy Andryszak, president and CEO of INGAA. “His leadership in this space makes him well suited to help guide INGAA’s mission and promote our industry’s commitment to the safe and reliable delivery of natural gas to consumers across the country.”  

Slater recognized that he is assuming the role of chairman during an “eventful and important time for the natural gas transmission industry. 

“The next year will be a defining period for our industry and I look forward to ensuring policymakers and regulators understand the indispensable link the natural gas transmission industry plays in delivering our nation’s energy abundance, economic prosperity and transition to a lower carbon future,” Slater said. 

The Western States and Tribal Nations Natural Gas Initiative (WSTN), a government-led collaborative effort to develop export markets for natural gas from western U.S. states and tribal lands, announced the appointment of its first board of directors. 

Comprised of energy experts from across the nation, WSTN’s Board steers the organization’s vision to advocate for a robust North American natural gas industry that exports gas produced under stringent environmental standards. 

The Board includes a member appointed by each of the organizing government agencies that signed WSTN’s foundational memorandum of understanding (MOU). They represent New Mexico; Utah; Wyoming; the Ute Indian Tribe; the Western Colorado Counties of Garfield, Mesa, Moffat and Rio Blanco; and the State of Baja California, Mexico. These governments lead WSTN and are the sole bodies that may appoint Board members. 

The Board includes Chairman Jason Sandel (New Mexico), Vice Chair and Government Liaison Jeffrey Hartley (Utah), Vice Chair and Industry Liaison Bobby Rolston (Wyoming), President Andrew Browning; Secretary Duane Zavadil (Colorado), and Treasurer Devin Pehrson (Ute Indian Tribe). Baja California’s appointee is pending. 


The Marcellus Shale Coalition (MSC) has named David Callahan as president, replacing David Spigelmyer, who retired after nearly 40 years of service to the natural gas industry and seven years leading the coalition.  

Callahan most recently was vice president, External Affairs, with JKLM Energy, and previously was a vice president at MarkWest Energy Partners and served in the lead government affairs staff role. 

“Thanks to Dave Spigelmyer’s leadership, the MSC is an effective, well-run organization that puts our members’ advocacy goals and people first,” Callahan said. 

Related Articles


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}