August 2013, Vol. 240 No. 8


PLCAC Hosts 59th Annual Convention

P&GJ Staff

The 2013 Pipe Line Contractors Association of Canada (PLCAC) had its 59th annual convention in Montreal, Quebec from May 12-16. The morning sessions included a host of guest speakers who offered the audience expert insight on recent and ongoing pipeline construction activities.

On May 14, Robert Jones, senior vice president of Major Projects for TransCanada, relayed projects on the board for the company and addressed the proposed Keystone XL project from Hardisty, Alberta to Steele City, NE.

On May 15, Vivian Krause, writer and advocate, conveyed her research on the drivers behind the funding of environmental campaigns that have stalled and impaired Canadian oil and gas pipelines like the Northern Gateway Pipeline.

On May 16, Michael Clemons, CFL Toronto Argonaut running back, gave an inspirational speech on a person’s potential to reach whatever goal one sets for their self.

Joined by PLCAC’s previous president, David J. Kavanaugh, David W. Johnstone, president of T.W. Johnstone Co. Ltd., was elected PLCAC president for the 2013-14 term. Johnstone has carried out the role of PLCAC’s president twice prior to this nomination, once during 1998-99 and then again in 2006-07. He is on the Executive Committee and a member of the Canadian Pipeline Advisory Council, and also serves as the chair of the association’s Distribution Negotiating Committee.

On May 16, at the convention’s gala event, Edward Shipka was slated as an honorary member of the PLCAC. Shipka has been in the Canadian pipeline construction industry for more than 50 years and a part of the PLCAC for 29 years. He was the director of the PLCAC for 17 years and a member of the Canadian Pipeline Advisory Council for 10 years where he served as president for two terms. Shipka was chair of the Safety Committee for 15 continuous years and held the reins during several key safety changes industry-wide. He received ample thanks from the PLCAC and was given a plaque from a fellow honorary member, Barry Brown.

The PLCAC’s 2013-14 Executive Committee consists of: David W. Johnstone, president; Michael R. Prior, vice president; Mark H. Scherer, 2nd vice president; Neil K. Waugh, treasurer; David J. Kavanaugh, past president; and Neil G. Lane, executive director. The 2013-14 contractor directors include the following: Nick J. de Koning; Lyall A. Nash; Paul R. Schultz; and Kevin W. Waschuk. The PLCAC’s appointed associate directors are David M. Douglas and Bernie G. Lailey.

Select companies were commended on zero lost-time accidents in five key safety categories through the James L. Abraham Pipeline Construction Safety Awards Program. Michels Canada Co., Robert B. Somerville Co. Ltd. and Waschuck Pipe Line Construction Ltd. won the mainline pipeline construction safety portion of the award; Aecon Infrastructure Group, Robert B. Somerville Co. Ltd. and T.W. Johnstone Co. Ltd. won the distribution pipeline construction award; Premay Pipeline Hauling LP and Mykyte Transportation Services Inc. won the specialty contractor (transportation) award; Summit Pipeline Services Ltd., Aecon Infrastructure Group, Louisbourg Pipelines Inc., McCaws Drilling and Blasting, Michels Canada Co. and Robert B. Somerville Co. Ltd. won the specialty contractor other (maintenance) award; and TESTCO Western Corp. and Academy Construction & Maintenance Ltd. won the specialty contractor other (testing) award.

The 60th PLCAC Annual Convention will be held May 11-15, 2014 in Vancouver, BC at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver.


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}