May 2009 Vol. 236 No. 5

Business Meetings & Events

May Association News

ExxonMobil Production Company’s U.S. operations won the Gas Processors Association (GPA) 2009 Company Safety Award and the President’s Award for Safety Improvement.

The presentation at the 88th annual GPA Convention in San Antonio included (left to right) ExxonMobil East Texas Operations Superintendent Bryan Wesley, ExxonMobil Safety Special Projects Coordinator Phillip Marquez, GPA President Bob Dunn and ExxonMobil Upstream Research Heavy Oil and Mining Manager Gene Thomas, who is past president of GPA.

The Midwest ENERGY Association (MEA) has new officers. Anthony R. McCain of Nicor Gas has been confirmed as new Chair of the Board of Directors.Timothy J. Burke of Omaha Public Power District joins the executive committee as First Vice Chair. Patricia K. Walker of Duke Energy is Second Vice Chair. Earnest A. Lehman of Midwest Energy, Inc., who previously served as Chair, will serve as Past Chair.

New directors are: Barry J. (Joe) Bentley, Vice President, Power Delivery, Indianapolis Power & Light Co.; Connor J. Deering, Vice President & General Manager, Gas Products/Services Division, Mueller Co.; Vern A. Gebhart, Vice President, Customer Operations, Alliant Energy; William P. Herdegen, III, Vice President, T&D Operations, Kansas City Power & Light; J. Scott Kleppe, President & Chief Operating Officer, Sensit Technologies; Bobbi L. Schroeppel, Vice President, Customer Care, Communications and Human Resources, NorthWestern Energy; and John M. Yogerst, Assistant Vice President, Gas Operations, Madison Gas & Electric Co.

A new membership program from the American Welding Society (AWS) empowers welders to use their buying power for instant discounts at dozens of Gases and Welding Distributors Association (GAWDA)-member stores nationwide. Welders can also enjoy discounts on insurance, welding books and training, and other services. For more information visit or call 1-800-443-9453.


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}